About Archegyres

When you engage with any perceived tensions along the boundaries between your inner and outer worlds, you are, consciously or unconsciously, trying to understand the differences between what is happening inside for you and what is happening outside. These differences may not be immediately obvious and often can involve levels of ambiguity, confusion and conflict. Although you may consciously try to disengage from these perceived tensions, the self naturally engages with tensions in a process of differentiation between your inner and outer worlds. Your self performs this differentiation by sensing what is known and what is unknown about the perceived differences between your inner and outer worlds, what is familiar and unfamiliar about those differences, and how those perceptions appear to emerge, exist and evolve.

Known and Unknown, Familiar and Unfamiliar

As you stand in the centre of your own understanding, working with the boundary between your inner and outer worlds, your self naturally differentiates what you are perceiving into what is known and what is unknown. The known can be explained and understood by using data and information to rationally predict outcomes with apparent certainty. The uncertainty of the unknown contains challenges that may appear confusing and paradoxical but the unknown also contains unrealised potential and opportunities for you to explore. As well as using the natural epistemological process of differentiating your inner world into known and unknown, you also phenomenologically differentiate what you are experiencing into familiar and unfamiliar. In the familiar, you have previously experienced a similar situation and can explain and understand what appears to be happening. In the unfamiliar, you may not be sure of what is actually going on and are uncertain of what the outcome may be. The epistemology of the known and unknown, and the phenomenology of the familiar and unfamiliar are not separate perceptions, they are perceived simultaneously, in a circular, constantly moving feedforward – feedback loop, naturally forming into four distinct areas of the known and familiar, the known and unfamiliar, the unknown and familiar, and the unknown and unfamiliar.


In the known and familiar, you know what you are perceiving and have a familiarity of it from previous experience, resulting in an awareness that is usually sensed as practical and physical. In the known and unfamiliar, you have knowledge that others may have experienced a situation of this type, but you may not have previously experienced it, giving an awareness that is often more theoretical and mental. In the unknown and familiar, you are familiar with the situation because you have absorbed the experience at an unconscious level but often have no conscious knowledge of doing this, providing an awareness that is felt as more experiential and emotional. In the unknown and unfamiliar you have no knowledge of previous experience of the circumstances that you find yourself in, leading to an awareness that tends to be more creative and spiritual. When working with the boundaries between your inner and outer worlds, the physical, mental, emotional or spiritual nature of the tensions are described as Tones.

Emerging, Existing, Evolving

The four Tones of physical, mental, emotional and spiritual that you perceive along the boundaries of your inner and outer worlds are not static. They are dynamically moving in a circular feedforward – feedback loop where the boundaries between your inner and outer worlds appear to emerge, exist and evolve. Your initial awareness of the nature of a boundary will be as it emerges and you will naturally try to identify what it means to you so that you can take action to work with it. As you work with an emerging boundary, it will become more stable and move from emergence into existence. An existing boundary will naturally be maintained because you can purposefully use it to fulfill a need and create value as you work with it. Even though an existing boundary may appear to be stable, it will be constantly moving and at some point, it will continue to evolve as you explore the nature of the boundary between your inner and outer world. As a boundary evolves, you are adjusting and adapting to your situation, giving yourself a variety of viewpoints and beliefs to examine as you seek potential opportunities. The nature of the boundaries between your inner and outer worlds as they emerge, exist and evolve described as Phases.

Perceptual Arcs

As your self naturally connects across the boundaries between the inner and outer worlds, you are continually combining Tones and Phases to create a complex and powerful understanding of the nature of the connection and the tensions that you are perceiving. The three phases, which are the nature of how the boundaries appear, combined with the four Tones, which are the nature of the tension encountered in the connection, combine to create 12 Perceptual Arcs. These Perceptual Arcs enable the self to use the inner world is a way of explaining outer world and to use the outer world is a way of understanding the inner world. The combination of the four Tones of physical, mental, emotional and spiritual and the three Phases of emerging, existing and evolving, give 12 Perceptual Arcs, which are:

Emerging Physical, Existing Physical, Evolving Physical

Emerging Mental, Existing Mental, Evolving Mental

Emerging Emotional, Existing Emotional, Evolving Emotional

Emerging Spiritual, Existing Spiritual, Evolving Spiritual

These 12 Perceptual Arcs are not a rigid and categorical classification of the way in which the self perceives inner and outer worlds. The Perceptual Arcs simply provide you with a contextual framework that enables you to understand your self and the nature of the tensions that you encounter along the boundaries between your inner and outer worlds.

Natural Sense-Making

Rather than trying to characterise, classify, codify or compute your behaviours by judging them from outside in the outer world, working with these 12 Perceptual Arcs enables you to work from within your inner world. No Perceptual Arc is judged as better or worse than any other, they are simply ways of understanding how you naturally make sense of your worlds. As you stand in the centre of your perceptions, the 12 Perceptual Arcs naturally form a constantly moving perceptual circle that you can use to provide you with a fundamental understanding of your self. ‘Arche-‘ is a prefix for fundamental, and a ‘gyre’ is a constantly moving circle, so this perceptual circle is described as an Archegyre, a practical multi-ontology contextual framework for self-understanding. At its most fundamental, an Archegyre is simply a circle, with the inside of the circle reflecting your inner world and the outside of the circle representing your outer world, and as it naturally differentiates, it forms the basis for a range of processes that enable you to powerfully work with the connections between your inner and outer worlds. By working with the fundamental circle of the Archegyre, you give yourself the opportunity to powerfully put your inner world ideas and instincts into practical action in the realities of the tangible outer world.